Beauty | My First Birchbox

September Birch Box 2015

Last month I finally took the plunge and decided to order my first Birchbox. In September, the beauty box celebrated its five year birthday and, as a result, had a lot of special offers online. During their Birchbox Bonanza, I was lucky enough to receive a discount code for 50% off my first box which made me think ‘at £6 something, what have I got to lose?’

I’ve always wanted to try a monthly subscription box ever since I discovered Glossy Box a couple of years ago. The idea of receiving a handful of surprise beauty samples to try once a month has always appealed to me, however the addition of another direct debit has not. Normally £10 a box plus £2.95 shipping, I was able to get my hands on the Birthday September edition for just £6.47 which was great. Once I had placed my order I was able to pick which box design I wanted so I opted for the birthday balloon design.

Upon arrival my September samples were packaged in a cute, reusable drawstring bag. Here’s what was inside…

September Birch Box 2015

Laura Mercier – Facial Polish

I’ve been using this facial scrub 2-3 times a week with my Clarisonic and I think it works really well at clearly out your pores and leaving your skin squeaky clean. The micro beads are very fine and feel a little gritty but they definitely do the job.

Bliss – Lemon and Sage Soapy Suds

This was my least favourite sample of the bunch as I thought it was just like any other generic shower gel/bubble bath; it did have a refreshing fragrance though!

Laqa & Co – Cheeky Lip Pencil in Humble Brag

I love lip crayons and this Laqa & Co one is a lovely shade. As a sample, you only get a small amount but a little goes a long way so I can see this lasting me a while.

John Masters Organics – Citrus Neroli Detangler

This hair detangler has a lovely, fresh scent that I really enjoyed using on my hair. I didn’t think it delivered ‘miracle’ results and I had to apply quite a lot to my hair in one go but it seemed to do the trick.

Benefit – POREfessional License to Blot

This was the only beauty brand in the box that I really recognised and I was really happy to find the new product from the POREfessional range which promises to keep oil at bay. I found that during application you needed to blend the product into your skin otherwise it doesn’t work which makes you think blotting paper probably does a better job.

A Birch Box-exclusive Tangle Brush

This was a nice addition to the box and works really well; I’ll be popping it into my handbag.

Overall I was pleased with my first Birchbox and think it is a great idea if you are looking to sample some new beauty products but don’t want to shell out on full size products only to find they are not for you. Unfortunately I can’t justify paying for this as a monthly treat however it’s great that you can opt in and out of the subscription at any time.

Have you tried Birchbox before? What are your favourite monthly subscription boxes? 

1472754101020722160814

Bloglovin | Twitter

4 thoughts on “Beauty | My First Birchbox

Leave a comment